My Christmas Gift

As often happens this time of year, during the night Paula got cold and she rolled over and gave me a hug in order to “steal my warmth” as she so wonderfully puts it.  I have been thinking the past few days of all the men who would give everything they had if their Christmas gift was to have their wife roll over and give them a hug – but their wife isn’t there any more.

No rational person would wish to go through the tests and surgeries and treatments and hospital visits and chemotherapies and all that goes with a diagnosis of breast cancer.  Yet, with all that this year has brought us I am grateful that Paula was persistent in going back to the doctors when the initial test results indicated that there was no cancer.  I’m so grateful that we had the help of all the surgeons and oncologists and nurses and all the people who make it their job to help people who are literally facing death.  I’ve been overwhelmed by the love and support of our friends and families.  I can only offer my heartfelt thanks.

And the only Christmas gift I want for the rest of my life is to be Paula’s “hot water bottle”.

Leave a Reply

